You are not logged in.

Unread posts

The guest access to this forum was limited. Overall there are 25 Postings in this thread.
To read them all you should register yourself.

Dear visitor, welcome to FertilityZone . If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

• "mima08" started this thread

Reg: Apr 17th 2010

Monday, April 19th 2010, 9:45pm

using a sperm donor?

Dear all
I am brand new to FZ and tried to find people who are going down the sperm donor route. I had a look at other threads, but wondered if someone is in the situation where they decided to go down the sperm donor route and are now wondering if it is the right thing to do?
My lovely partner had a vasectomy 12 years ago and I knew from the moment we got together that having biological children would be difficult. I am now starting IVF treatment and we discussed options a lot but he felt worried that a) because of his age (50), even if there was sperm, it may not be very good quality and b) there is a small history of mental illness for children born to older cousins (2 of). I was always totally happy about the idea of using a sperm donor until I actually got a form with the criteria for a possible donor. It just feels really weird - how will we feel if (when xfingers ) we have a baby and family & friends will try the "spot who the baby looks like" etc. I know it sounds really silly and DP tells me not to worry as he doesn't really get the importance of genetic linkage anyway (he's got 3 older children from a previous marriage) but it would be great to hear from others in a similar situation and maybe share some thought / how you feel?

Sorry for the long waffle! :O

Eeyore

TECHNICAL ADMIN

United Kingdom

Reg: Sep 27th 2005