You are not logged in.

Unread posts

Dear visitor, welcome to FertilityZone . If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

Clairey

Reg: Jun 30th 2009

Wednesday, July 15th 2009, 6:01pm

Hello eveyone,

I am a newbie only been on the site a couple of weeks. Had my follow up appointment with the clinic today and they said I could start IUI next month. They also said if I wanted to go down the IVF route I could do that as well. I just wondered if anyone could help on the benefits of going with IVF or IUI. Confused as to which one to decide on (apart from the cost of course) is IVF a better choice? Grateful for advice from people who have been through this.

thanks
Clairey

Rene

Lone wolf

• "Rene" started this thread
  • South Africa

Reg: Oct 3rd 2005

Children: one gorgeous boy

What's Up?
I have PMA
I'm Positive that
I am Mental
and I know I have Attitude

Wednesday, July 15th 2009, 8:08pm

Hi, Clairey and welcome
The IVF vs IUI debate is one that often comes down to personal choice.
IVF:
More expensive
more invasive
more chance of OHSS due to higher doses of drugs
higher success rate

IUI:
cheaper
less invasive
could be just as time consuming as IVF
lower success rate
often shorter waiting list than IVF

both can and do work.
Good luck with whichever you decide to go for...

PCOS, hypothyroid - on thyroxine, aspirin and Met
Lap/Ovarian Drilling Oct 2005
DIUI X5 + 2 abandoned cycles (total 7 cycles)
:BFP: 22 March 2006 - Connor Born 24 November 2006 - unplanned c-section
At 3 and a half C finally gave up the boob!

Rene

Lone wolf

• "Rene" started this thread
  • South Africa

Reg: Oct 3rd 2005

Children: one gorgeous boy

What's Up?
I have PMA
I'm Positive that
I am Mental