You are not logged in.

Unread posts

Dear visitor, welcome to FertilityZone . If this is your first visit here, please read the Help. It explains in detail how this page works. To use all features of this page, you should consider registering. Please use the registration form, to register here or read more information about the registration process. If you are already registered, please login here.

• "Baby-Dancer" started this thread

Reg: Dec 1st 2007

Saturday, December 1st 2007, 12:03pm

1st IUI - SILLY QUESTION!

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here so hello to everyone out there :hello:

I have just had my first IUI treatment this week, all went well thankfully. I was just wondering though about one important detail ... I was given a scan first to measure the size of my follies and they found I had 2 on each side, one of which was a good 18mm. I returned home with an ovulation testing kit and was told to ring the clinic as soon as I had an LH surge. I did the test the next morning and found that I had a good reading, even stronger than the test line so my DH and I booked in for the IUI. The question I'm a little unsure about is how long the sperm they inject actually last once they are high up in the womb. Some articles I've read say they last for up to 5 days, and other articles say that they last for only 24 hours or so. Our Cons advised us to have sex as normal to help our chances and I actually ovulated last night so I was slighty concerned that the treatment I had on Wednesday will have been a waste of time if the sperm don't live very long. My DH and I did have fun in the meantime so I think we've done all we can to boost our chances [zx084]!!

If anyone out there can answer my questions I'd be so grateful. I love this site, it can be a lonely process doing fertility treatment as nobody REALLY understands what you go through unless they have been there themselves, so I'm hoping i might get to know some of you over the coming months.

GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE !!